Sustainable Trust, Enriched Future

Taiwan Life voluntarily follows the Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) and Principles for Sustainable Insurance (PSI), and leverages the advantages and resources of its core businesses to implement ESG. We integrate global best practices at a local level to create long-term benefits for our policyholders, employees, shareholders, investors, and community, and actively support government ESG initiatives to leverage and expand our influence.
We are also guided by “TRUST,” the long-standing sustainability commitment of CTBC Holding that comprises corporate governance (Transparency), environmental sustainability (Responsibility), employee welfare (Understanding), customer service (Satisfaction), and community engagement (Together).
As an insurance company, earning and maintaining the trust of customers is our ultimate pursuit. With Taiwan to become a super-aged society in the next few years, the insurance industry will need to adapt to the reality that we will carry the trust of our customers for nearly a hundred years. Through our various sustainability-oriented actions, we hope for our customers to feel at ease and continue to trust us. Adhering to customer-centric principle with sustainability as the ultimate goal, we have coined a “Sustainable Trust, Enriched Future” vision. This blueprint approaches sustainable development from four strategic directions, namely “Ethical Governance,” “Sustainable Finance,” “Accountable Operations,” and “An Inclusive Society.” In addition to cataloguing sustainability-related issues that the Company should continue to focus on and develop, we strive to achieve 17 U.N. Sustainable Development Goals and stay current with global changes in sustainable development.
In order to more actively implement corporate sustainability management, CTBC Holding’s Sustainability Committee was upgraded to a functional committee in 2020. All members of the committee are independent directors (i.e., four from CTBC Holding and one from Taiwan Life) and it regularly reports to CTBC Holding’s Board of Directors on the group’s sustainability strategy and annual results. Under the guidance of the Board of Directors, Taiwan Life formulates relevant policies and reports the sustainable results and action plan of the company at the senior management meeting on a quarterly basis.
Moving forward, ESG-related progress and performance will also be reported to Taiwan Life’s Board of Directors every year, and external experts will be invited to continually conduct research on ESG performance trends, conduct industry gap analysis, and propose specific suggestions for more sustainable operations. Furthermore, in 2021, the sustainable business indicators of enterprises will be formally included in the management by objectives (MBO) of senior executives at and above the group head level in order to expand the influence of ESG.

LETTER FROM THE CHAIRMAN

2020 brought the world face to face with major challenges on many fronts. The pandemic forced the adoption of new modes of thinking, compounded by the chain effects of climate change, the increasing shortage of natural resources, and the global problem of aging populations. Even as the profits of Taiwan Life again reached new highs, we maintained our focus on using our corporate strengths to help Taiwanese society and to drive the global economy toward a more sustainable future.
We are committed to making Taiwan Life an insurance company that customers can trust throughout their lifetime and that operates with genuine sustainability. In doing so, we aim for this customer trust to be passed from one generation to the next. We are working to realize our “Sustainable Trust, Enriched Future” vision based on the concepts of co-creation and co-benefit and by implementing corporate sustainability in four major areas: “Ethical Governance,” “Sustainable Finance,” “Accountable Operations,” and “An Inclusive Society.” As we work to enhance corporate governance, maintain financial stability, promote environmental sustainability, improve employee welfare, develop inclusive finance, establish high-quality customer relationships, and engage with the community, every step we take toward stronger ESG performance is taken to foster trust among our customers and the public and to drive our sustainable operations, ultimately also raising our brand value.
In the past year, in addition to continually deepening our environmental sustainability and expanding our social engagement, we also reached a new milestone in transparent governance. We have published a Responsible Investment Report (which includes our Stewardship Report) and a Sustainable Insurance Report, all of which have been assured by an impartial third party. With Taiwan Life having voluntarily adopted the U.N. Principles for Responsible Investment and Principles for Sustainable Insurance, its Board of Directors has since adopted a Responsible Investment Policy and a Sustainable Insurance Policy. Furthermore, to help implement the customer-centric and sustainability-targeted blueprint, both “Treating Customers Fairly” and “ESG / sustainable development” have been listed as issues regularly tracked by the Board of Directors since 2020.
Meanwhile, the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated the investment market’s move toward sustainable development, with global demand for sustainable finance also continuing to rise. This has tested our ability to manage long-term risks and create value and has forced us to consider how companies like us can more effectively lead the ESG transformation and how the trust of our customers can be harnessed to improve sustainability.
This is Taiwan Life’s first Sustainability Report. The publication process also gave us another opportunity to thoroughly review our various actions in ESG and their effectiveness, and as I always encourage my colleagues, ESG must take root if it is to be done well. Taiwan Life has become one of the twin engines of profit for our parent company, CTBC Financial Holding Co., Ltd. (CTBC Holding) and has written a new page in its history in terms of profit in 2020. However, we know that as we pursue continued profitability, we must also implement ESG in each of our core businesses and move forward as a benchmark company in sustainable insurance by echoing the U.N. Sustainable Development Goals from the core competencies of the insurance industry. In the future, as for the sustainable development of Taiwan Life, we will adhere to our original intention, protect and create the value of customers, employees, shareholders and communities, and jointly build a better future.

Sustainable performance highlights in 2020

Awards & recognition 2020

永續信賴 豐富未來

台灣人壽自願遵循責任投資原則(PRI)及永續保險原則(PSI),運用核心本業的優勢與資源,於核心業務中落實ESG,接軌國際、深耕落地,為保戶、員工、股東、投資對象及社會大眾創造長期利益,積極回應政府機關在環境、社會及公司治理面向的倡議,進而擴大社會影響力。
「TRUST」是母公司中信金控長期以來的永續承諾,透過公司治理(Transparency)、環境永續(Responsibility)、員工關懷(Understanding)、產品服務(Satisfaction)及社會參與(Together)五大面向,逐一拼貼出未來永續藍圖。
台灣人壽身為保險業者,客戶的信賴是我們永遠的追求。台灣再過幾年就要進入超高齡社會,這意味著我們肩上會承載客戶一生近百年的信賴,保險業必須因應趨勢轉變。我們透過各項企業永續作為,讓客戶安心,持續信賴我們,秉持「以客戶為導向,以永續為目標」擘劃「永續信賴 豐富未來」的永續願景。本著保險業的核心,從4大策略方向,分別為「誠信治理」、「永續金融」、「當責營運」及「共融社會」建構我們的永續發展藍圖。除訂立本公司須持續關注及發展的永續議題,同時呼應連結聯合國17項永續發展目標,回應全球永續發展的脈動。
為更積極的落實企業永續之管理,台灣人壽母公司中信金控「企業永續委員會」於 2020 年提升為功能性委員會,全體委員由獨立董事擔任(包含金控全體獨立董事及台灣人壽獨立董事一名),並定期向金控董事會報告金控永續策略及年度成效。台壽則在董事會的指導之下,訂定相關政策,每季於高階主管會議呈報企業永續成效及行動方案。未來,也將每年呈報環境、社會及公司治理相關進度與績效至台壽董事會,並廣邀外部專家持續針對ESG進行趨勢蒐研,進行同業落差分析,提出永續經營之具體精進建議。2021年更正式將企業永續經營指標納入總處長(含)以上高階主管之個人年度目標管理(Management By Objectives,簡稱MBO),藉以擴大ESG影響範圍。

董事長的話

2020年人類面臨重大的挑戰,疫情為全球帶來新的省思、氣候變遷的連鎖效應,及天然資源日益短缺,再加上全球高齡化的問題接踵而來。台灣人壽在獲利持續創下新高的同時,更加深刻思考如何以企業的力量,回應台灣社會,並驅動全球經濟邁向永續的新未來。
台灣人壽期許成為讓客戶一生信賴,永續經營的保險公司。而且要將客戶的信賴,從這一代傳承到下一代,做到世世守護,代代相傳。我們要以共創共好的理念建構「永續信賴 豐富未來」的願景,並且從「誠信治理」、「永續金融」、「當責營運」及「共融社會」四大構面實踐企業永續。落實在精進公司治理與維護金融穩定、推動環境永續、提升員工福利、發展普惠金融、建立優質客戶關係和社會參與上,我們在ESG所努力的每一步,都希望能成為客戶、大眾信賴我們的基石,也以此作為邁向永續經營的動力,進而提升我們的品牌價值。
過去這一年,我們除了持續深化環境永續,擴大社會參與,更在透明治理上邁向了新的里程碑,陸續出版經公正第三方確信的盡職治理(Stewardship)暨責任投資(PRI)報告書及永續保險(PSI)報告書。自從我們自願遵循聯合國責任投資原則(PRI)及永續保險原則(PSI)後,董事會也隨即通過責任投資政策及永續保險政策。自2020年起,不論是「公平待客」或者「ESG永續發展」均列為董事會定期追蹤的項目,以期真正落實「以客戶為導向,以永續為目標」的藍圖。
我們看到新冠肺炎的流行,加速了投資市場朝永續發展的速度,全球對於永續金融的需求持續上升,這同時也考驗我們對於長期風險的掌握,創造價值的能力,以及反思企業如何領導這場ESG的變革,如何把客戶交給我們的信賴,在永續裡持續發揮影響力。
今年是台灣人壽第一次出版企業社會責任報告書,我們透過出版報告書的過程,檢視自己在ESG上的成效與各項作為,就如同我一向勉勵同仁的,ESG要做好必須落地生根。台灣人壽已成為母公司中信金控獲利的雙引擎之一,2020年獲利寫下了歷史上的新頁,但我們深知,追求獲利的同時,更要將ESG落實在每一項核心業務中,從保險業的核心能力出發,呼應聯合國永續發展目標(SDGs),朝永續保險的標竿企業而前進。未來,台灣人壽永續發展上,將一秉初衷,用心守護與創造客戶、員工、股東與社區的價值,共同建立美好的未來。

2020永續績效亮點

2020榮耀肯定